|
|
|
Member 231 posts
Registered: Jan 2006
is it possible to use drawflat on walls only in ezquake? I want "lego floor" or standard gl floor, since its hard to predict rockets at one flor color only.
Administrator 887 posts
Registered: Jan 2006
(from ezq 1.8.2 official release changelog) -- gl_textureless for brush models - floor on dm2 for example maybe? maybe not? Join us on discord.quake.world
Member 151 posts
Registered: Feb 2006
I don't think quake makes any distinction between floors, walls or roofs. There are only brushes and entities (technically, there's only different types of entities, but lets not go into that).
I think the best thing you could do is use "flat" textures for walls and such, while keeping the floor as you wish. That is, not use a setting at all, but make use of the external textures feature. You're pretty screwed on maps where floor texture is the same as wall texture though, but that rarely (if ever) happens.
Member 715 posts
Registered: May 2006
Actually, drawflat does make a distinction between walls and floor, so this feature would be highly possible. ---Where can you see lions? Only in kenya! Come to kenya we've got lions.
Member 89 posts
Registered: Jul 2007
i vote for that feature anyday!
Member 215 posts
Registered: Mar 2006
just so you know , fte has r_floorcolour and r_wallcolour as well as r_floortexture and r_walltexture so you could have your textured floor (texture of your choice) and colored walls.
im not saying you have to use fte, just peak at the code or whatevski's It Takes A Tough Man To Make A Tender Rocketjump
Member 715 posts
Registered: May 2006
Yeah I've been thinking about those variables but never got an idea of what would be best to put there. What do you play with purplehaze? ---Where can you see lions? Only in kenya! Come to kenya we've got lions.
Member 215 posts
Registered: Mar 2006
i dont use drawflat regularly, i have just messed around with it for fun. i mean you can use literally any texture in quake, have a look in your 24 bit textures and use a name of one you like. first make sure you have r_wallcolour 255 255 255 and r_floorcolour 255 255 255 then for example r_walltexture "#teleport" looks weird. =) or you can make your quake like the good old netquake days o_0 It Takes A Tough Man To Make A Tender Rocketjump
Member 215 posts
Registered: Mar 2006
this is what jOn would want: r_floorcolour 255 255 255 r_floortexture cop1_8 r_wallcolour 155 55 22 r_walltexture "" It Takes A Tough Man To Make A Tender Rocketjump
Member 715 posts
Registered: May 2006
Wow that last setting, gotta try that one ---Where can you see lions? Only in kenya! Come to kenya we've got lions.
Member 284 posts
Registered: Oct 2006
wtlol, that jOn-might-like-setting is the sex$$$
Member 231 posts
Registered: Jan 2006
Ye something like that would be nice, i prefer more "qw-standardcolors" though But i guess its not possible in ezquake, as mentioned before
News Writer 283 posts
Registered: Jan 2007
Nice lava texture on the jOn-might-like-setting... does it move too?
Member 151 posts
Registered: Feb 2006
Hmm. How does is distinguish between walls and floor, exactly? The angle the normal vector makes against the Z-axis? If so, what's the limit? Just curious really
Member 1011 posts
Registered: Feb 2006
Hmm. How does is distinguish between walls and floor, exactly? The angle the normal vector makes against the Z-axis? If so, what's the limit? yes VectorCopy(s->plane->normal, n); VectorNormalize(n); if (n[2] < -0.5 || n[2] > 0.5) // floor or ceiling glColor3ubv(f); else // walls glColor3ubv(w);
Member 151 posts
Registered: Feb 2006
Member 89 posts
Registered: Jul 2007
r_walltexture and r_floortexture sounds like friggin sweet feature for ez. my vote.. again!
Member 1011 posts
Registered: Feb 2006
would you really want the same floor texture throughout? i would have thought it would be preferable to extend r_drawflat so that the following combinations are available:
r_drawflat 0 (standard) r_drawflat 1 (draw both walls and floors as flat) r_drawflat 2 (draw only walls as flat, floors have map texture) r_drawflat 3 (draw only floors as flat, walls have map texture)
Member 231 posts
Registered: Jan 2006
would you really want the same floor texture throughout? i would have thought it would be preferable to extend r_drawflat so that the following combinations are available:
r_drawflat 0 (standard) r_drawflat 1 (draw both walls and floors as flat) r_drawflat 2 (draw only walls as flat, floors have map texture) r_drawflat 3 (draw only floors as flat, walls have map texture) Nice nice
Administrator 1864 posts
Registered: Feb 2006
Member 1754 posts
Registered: Jan 2006
would you really want the same floor texture throughout? i would have thought it would be preferable to extend r_drawflat so that the following combinations are available:
r_drawflat 0 (standard) r_drawflat 1 (draw both walls and floors as flat) r_drawflat 2 (draw only walls as flat, floors have map texture) r_drawflat 3 (draw only floors as flat, walls have map texture) And the best post award goes to... oldman!
Member 113 posts
Registered: Apr 2006
Code has been commited for this in revision 3940 so it should be in tomorrows nightly build. Bit of a quick hack so there'll be a small performance hit if used.
Member 231 posts
Registered: Jan 2006
Code has been commited for this in revision 3940 so it should be in tomorrows nightly build. Bit of a quick hack so there'll be a small performance hit if used. http://pici.se/373975/Interesting
Member 121 posts
Registered: May 2006
.. so whatever happened to that? i really would love to have my Ezquake set to something like in purplehaze's post! :<
Member 113 posts
Registered: Apr 2006
Member 357 posts
Registered: Mar 2006
oops, I didnt do it right
Member 132 posts
Registered: Mar 2006
Mine do no spaek engrish!
Member 347 posts
Registered: Feb 2006
Member 357 posts
Registered: Mar 2006
lol TOTALLY DOABLE! Just replace the current 'detail' texture with your fav (converted to greyscale) and your set! (i forget the command for the detail thing in ezQ?)
|
|
|
|