|
|
|
Member 151 posts
Registered: Jan 2006
I finally got shell at x86_64 box =:-). Thanks D-Kure for it Well i did some hacks with Makefile, then build all needed libs and then ezQ. I'm not sure will it work or not. Here are download link: http://ezquake.sourceforge.net/test/ezquake-linux-x86_64.tar.gz Report here is it OK or fails for you =:-) kill me now and burn my soul
Member 9 posts
Registered: Nov 2006
Does not work for me because of 64 bit issues with libpng. On startup I get:
libpng error: Invalid image width Received signal 11, exiting...
However I do have a fix:
edit pngconf.h and replace typedef unsigned long png_uint_32; typedef long png_int_32;
with
typedef unsigned int png_uint_32; typedef int png_int_32;
then recompile libpng and ezquake.
OR
recompile ezquake without -DWITH_PNG, but this will require some small modifcation to hud_common.c since its blindly makes use of png.h without checking if WITH_PNG is defined.
Member 4 posts
Registered: Nov 2006
It segfaults randomly for me
Member 805 posts
Registered: Mar 2006
It segfaults randomly for me You're a fake! Acre doesn't exist!!! --//-- Segfauts! Your are really complicated Elluan! https://tinyurl.com/qwbrasil - QuakeFiles
Member 4 posts
Registered: Nov 2006
I think it will take even more effort to port this to x86_64, given that there are MANY places where the code assumes data sizes. Lordhavoc has done a wonderful work on this for Darkplaces, but Darkplaces isn't Quake anymore. It has been practicaly rewritten from scratch. It segfaults randomly for me You're a fake! Acre doesn't exist!!! --//-- Segfauts! Your are really complicated Elluan! Hello, vegetous
News Writer 646 posts
Registered: Mar 2006
I also get libpng bs: phil@agro quake $ ./ezquake-gl.glx libpng error: Invalid image width Received signal 11, exiting... -nolibpng didnt work either (I'm not sure if thats even the right parameter) updating libpng (gentoo) to 1.2.7 didnt help note: my fuhquake works fine with nolibpng: phil@agro quake $ ./fuhquake-gl.glx -nolibpng phil@agro quake $ note: ezquake.x11 works (even without -nolibpng!), but i cant get it fullscreen, and i am used to GL, so I would really like to get GL to work.... disconnect, help!!!!!!!!!!!!111111111
News Writer 2260 posts
Registered: Jan 2006
get a new libpng
that should do the trick!
http://roz.bookieroz.com/temp/libpng.dll
download that one
Member 1026 posts
Registered: Feb 2006
Member 29 posts
Registered: May 2006
Does not work for me because of 64 bit issues with libpng. On startup I get:
libpng error: Invalid image width Received signal 11, exiting... DarkPlaces is actually having this same problem (except the error is not causing a crash , the problem is that my code is using unsigned int where it should be using unsigned long to match libpng1.2 - it seems (from googling) that unsigned long is indeed the standard in pngconf.h on all platforms and Linux distros, so I think we can assume unsigned long... I also came across discussion (and a cvs commit) of changing it to unsigned int in libpng1.4, so this problem will go away whever the (incompatible) libpng1.4 library comes out. Here is the patch for those interested: http://cvs.icculus.org/cvs/twilight/darkplaces/image_png.c?r1=1.10&r2=1.11
Member 364 posts
Registered: Oct 2006
Is there any advantage in using a 64-bit ezQuake binary over a 32bit one?
Member 229 posts
Registered: Aug 2007
Is there any advantage in using a 64-bit ezQuake binary over a 32bit one? Yes, with 64bit ezquake binary you wouldn't need to run it in emulated state(through wow64, converts 32bit to 64bit) on 64bit windows. I guess it's same thing with linux and everything which is natively 64bit. TEAM QUAD [need nothing] shaga loses another friend shaga discovers blast radius QUAD
Member 271 posts
Registered: Feb 2006
Yes, with 64bit ezquake binary you wouldn't need to run it in emulated state(through wow64, converts 32bit to 64bit) on 64bit windows. I guess it's same thing with linux and everything which is natively 64bit. In linux there are less system calls in the first place, and the system calls that there are are fairly cpu-neutral anyway. Quake simply doesn't generate many system calls anyway, so its fairly negligable in windows too. Using a 64bit binary, you get twice as many registers (on amd64 anyway), and your memcpys can run using half as many instructions. The additional registers mean that there is less storing variables on the stack (so less instructions - especially memory references), and the bigger sizes are particuarly useful to graphics/sound libraries. Compilers can generate worse code though if they feel they need to preserve more registers. 64bit pointers are useless except for databases (amd64 compatible cpus only support between 40 and 48bits of address space anyway. usually just 40. windows supports 48. I want a computer with that much ram). The more practical advantage of a 64bit build is that you don't need to get the 32bit libraries that ezquake depends upon. I also had the same problem with libpng with fte on 64bit linux. The library safely reports bad format and rejects gracefully. Note that this libpng bug shouldn't affect any win64 builds as long==int there.
Member 198 posts
Registered: Oct 2006
In short: if you built your system 64bit, why would you use 32bit stuff? (well unless there's none available).
64bit app -> 64bit system -> perform operations
vs
23bit app -> 64bit system -> kernel 32bit app emulation -> different way of memory handling -> perform operations
So, 2 more steps, 2 more failure points, redundant stuff that could be easily avoided.
CONCLUSION: THANKS DISCONNECT FOR x86_64 IMPLEMENTATION! \o/
Member 2 posts
Registered: Jun 2008
Here are download link: http://ezquake.sourceforge.net/test/ezquake-linux-x86_64.tar.gz There is no file to download. Is there any progress on a x86_64 build? I think that most people these days has a 64bit system or atleast thinking about buying one edit: what I really want is to at least play ezQ on my Ubuntu 64bit box edit2: Spelling errors
|
|
|
|